The palace was built in 1759-1771, for the family of Baron Harwood, who grew rich in the West Indies. The architects of the building are John Carr and Robert Adam, most of the furniture was made by the famous Thomas Chipendale. In the middle of the 18th century, the first Baron Harwood, Evin Lassels, ordered the construction of a house. He belongs to this family today: the 8th Lord Harwood, David Lassels, lives here with his family. Earl opened the house to the public, organizes excursions and lessons on drawing plants. Therefore, today the value of Harwood House is not limited to just a monument of the past. A few years ago, Harwood House organized an exhibition on the history of slavery and conducted a study on this topic with the University of New York, which complemented the historical overview.