Chez Lou is a very cozy and hospitable place to start your day. The menu is quite extensive, containing mostly traditional French dishes, such as croissants, toasts, and various salads. Besides, it is worth mentioning that fine pizza of different kinds is prepared here.
The cathedral in Suasson was named after Gervasius and Protasius, the martyrs who died for their Christian faith at the end of the third century. Suasson Cathedral began to be built in 1176, but due to the wars its construction took several centuries. Thus, during the Hundred Years' War the construction was interrupted not only by military actions, but also by theft: the materials intended for the construction of the cathedral were quickly stolen. The northern tower of the cathedral was never built, because neither the church nor the secular authorities were able to find new funds to continue its construction. The distinctive feature of the cathedral is its asymmetrical facade, decorated with only one southern tower more than 65 meters high. Besides her, the cathedral has a low bell tower. The interior of the temple is decorated with the painting "Worship of the Magi" by Rubens, the work of Philip de Champagne "Jesus hands the keys to the Apostle Peter", white marble statues of the Virgin Mary and the Archangel Gabriel. In some places, however, stained-glass windows dating back to the 14th century have been preserved. Suasson Cathedral is called one of the largest cathedrals in Picardia.
On the edge of the forest between Compiègne and Ville-Cotre, on a low hill by the river stands an ancient fortified castle Pierrefonds. Chateau de Pierrefonds is one of the few surviving battle castles in France. It was built on the remains of a 12th century fortress that once belonged to the Pierrefonds of Kierzi. At the end of the 12th century, the fortress became the property of the king. In 1392, Charles VI gave the estate to his brother, Duke Louis of Orleans, as a gift. By that time, the old fortress was only underground. Louis decided to build a new type of castle - powerful, grandiose, luxurious. Perestroika began in 1396. The author of the project was Raymond du Temple, the architect Jean Le Noir. Construction continued for more than a decade. In 1407, the Duke of Orleans was killed. Pierrephone's been finished with the new owner.
Lunch is served at the Café Brasserie Embarcadère overlooking the Pierrefonds.
Notre Dame Cathedral in Lana, completed in 1235, belongs to the earliest Gothic buildings. A cable car leads to the Old Town.
Our journey is coming to an end, and our last stop is Paris. The ideal way to get to know the city is to climb the Eiffel Tower. The openwork metal structure was erected in 1889 and since then has become the main symbol of the French capital and France in general. In addition to its architectural merits, the tower is valuable to the traveler as it provides an excellent vantage point for the main districts and attractions of Paris - on a clear day you can see the surroundings from its upper tier for 70 km.